Dr. med. vet. Corina Berset

Short profile

Corina Berset has studied veterinary medicine in Bucharest, then did a doctoral thesis at the University of Bern, Vetsuisse Faculty and subsequently worked as a veterinarian and scientist. She worked at the EPFL as a technical specialist at the Center for BioMedical Imaging and subsequently she completed an ECLAM (European College of Laboratory Animal Medicine) Residency at the AO Foundation, AO Research Institute Davos, Preclinical Services, where she also worked as Project Leader.

 

Through her professional work with laboratory rodents and large animals, as well as her internships with non-human primates, zebrafish and birds for the ECLAM Programme, Corina Berset has gained experience with many animal models. Part of her previous activities included advising on questions regarding veterinary and animal experimental matters as well as writing and reviewing applications for animal experiments. She taught researchers at LTK Module 1 at the EPFL and has herself organized laboratory animal science courses, seminars and workshops for researchers working in animal experiments.

 

Corina Berset is the convenor of the FELASA Working Group on Farm Animals: Health and Welfare of Ruminants and Pigs since July 2017 and member of the ECLAM Website Redesign Working Group since August 2018. She is also member of SGV, AFSTAL, AALAS, UFAW, SAVIR, ESLAV and of the Swiss AWO Network.

 

Since November 2018 Corina Berset is Animal Welfare Officer at the University of Zurich.

Dr. med. vet. Corina Berset

Kurzportrait

Corina Berset hat, nach dem Studium der Veterinärmedizin in Bukarest, ihre Doktorarbeit an der Universität Bern, Vetsuisse Fakultät gemacht und im Anschluss als Tierärztin und Wissenschaftlerin gearbeitet. An der EPFL war sie als technische Spezialistin am Center for BioMedical Imaging tätig und anschliessend absolvierte sie eine ECLAM (European College of Laboratory Animal Medicine) Residenz bei der AO Foundation, AO Forschungsinstitut Davos, Preclinical Services, wo sie auch als Projektleiterin arbeitete.

Durch ihre berufliche Tätigkeit mit Labornagern und Grosstieren sowie durch ihre Praktika mit nicht-humanen Primaten, Zebrafischen und Vögeln für das ECLAM Programm bringt Corina Berset Erfahrung mit vielen Tiermodellen mit. Teil ihrer bisherigen Tätigkeiten umfasste die Beratung in veterinärmedizinischen sowie tierexperimentellen Fragen sowie das Schreiben und Reviewen von Tierversuchsanträgen. Corina Berset wirkte in der Ausbildung (LTK Modul 1) an der EPFL mit und hat selbst Labortierkundekurse, Seminare und Workshops für tierexperimentell arbeitende Forschende organisiert.

Corina Berset ist Leiterin der FELASA-Arbeitsgruppe für Nutztiere: Gesundheit und Tierschutz von Wiederkäuern und Schweinen seit Juli 2017. Sie ist Mitglied bei AALAS, AFSTAL, ARSAL, ECLAM, ESLAV, Moredun Foundation, SAVIR, dem Schweizer AWO Netzwerk, dem Schweizer Culture of Care Netzwerk, SGV (Mitgleid dem Scientific Committee), UFAW.

Seit November 2018 ist Corina Berset Tierschutzbeauftragte der Universität Zürich. Sie ist Dipl. ECLAM seit Dezember 2019.